Share this page:

Study at a University in Australia

Study At University

Australia is a popular destination for international students to earn a certificate, diploma or degree. Professional institutions and talented teaching teams offer international students a progressive learning environment.  Australia's multicultural population makes it a vibrant place to live and study as a university student.

Australia has 39 universities - 37 public & 2 private. 1,200,000 students are attending Australian universities, with about 330,000 from overseas. 2/3 of students are studying at the undergraduate level, and the rest post graduate. Universities have approximately 100,000 employees! Universities value innovation. Some Australian inventions include: penicillin, the ultrasound, the electric drill, the 2-stroke lawn mower, and the black box in airplanes.

We can help you find a university to attend.

Australian universities are recognized under government legislation, and the federal government provides the funding required operating the public once. Each 'uni' (as they are called here) has a Chancellor and Vice-Chancellor who manage the day-to-day operations of the institution.  Universities receive a large amount of funding from the government, but Australian students are required to contribute to their tuition.


Gain a university qualification

At the completion of a university program, you will be awarded a Bachelor degree, Honours degree, Graduate certificate, Graduate diploma, Masters degree, or Doctoral degree.


Compared to a Vocational Education and Training program which delivers short, more practical courses for industry, university courses are more theory-based. However, in a profession qualification like engineering, nursing, or teaching, courses also have practical components.

Australian academic calender

The university year generally starts semester 1 in mid-to-late February. Semester 2 usually commences at the end of July. The summer holidays are from December to February. Stdeutn visa holders can work full-time during this and other class breaks!

University tuition fees

The government provides a large amount of funding per student, but additional tuition fees are paid by the students themselves. As an international student, you can expect to pay between AUD$14,000 to 35,000 a year for a bachelor's degree, and approximately AUD$15-$36,000 for a graduate degree, including a Masters or Ph.D. Learn more about Australian tuition fees

List of Australian universities

The Group of 8

The Group of 8 are considered the most powerful universities in the country.  They include:

University of Adelaide
Australian National University
University of Melbourne
Monash University
University of New South Wales
University of Queensland
University of Sydney
University of Western Sydney


Universities in Australia

Australian Catholic University
Australian National University
Bond University (private)
Central Queensland University
Charles Darwin University
Charles Sturt University
Curtin University
Deakin University
Edith Cowan University
Flinders University
Griffith University
James Cook University
La Trobe University
Macquarie University
Monash University
Murdoch University
Queensland University of Technology
RMIT University
Southern Cross University
Swinburne University of Technology
Torrens University Australia

University of Adelaide
University of Ballarat
University of Canberra
University of Melbourne
University of New England
University of New South Wales
University of Newcastle
University of Notre Dame (private)
University of Queensland
University of South Australia
University of Southern Queensland
University of Sydney
University of Tasmania
University of Technology Sydney
University of the Sunshine Coast
University of Western Australia
University of Western Sydney
University of Wollongong
Victoria University